Using Pixlr

This was my first time using Pixlr and at first I was very confused. I was unfamiliar with the layout and I did not know which tools did what. Once I got used to the tools and effects, I moved onto the layers. It took me a while to figure out how to add new layers on my background image. I kept deleting my background image when trying to add a new layer. After I finally figured out how to properly use the layers, I used the lasso tool to crop out Carmelo Anthony the best I could and added him to the background. I then used the eye dropper to get the color of the background next to him and used the paint brush to fill in all of the space around the ball and his arms so it would fit in the picture better. I wanted to change the brightness of the background a little bit but when I did it made all of the brush strokes that I used to make Carmelo blend into the background actually stood out even more. I think my header came out pretty nice for my first time using the application and when I found out more tricks I will try to make it better.

I could see myself using Pixlr again, once I got used to it it became pretty simple to use. I probably will not be using it to combine to pictures together, but there are many other features that I could use to make a picture look better, like changing the brightness or contrast. Overall I think Pixlr is a great web application and is a very good substitute for PhotoShop for people with beginner or intermediate skill level with photo editing. Not to mention this application is free for everyone to use!

Leave a comment